We had been told it would take about two weeks until we received the written report following my son’s cognitive and educational assessment. We chose to receive the report by email and paid promptly – optimistic this would reduce the time frame and lead to the right strategies being put in place more quickly.

Each day that second week following, I checked our email account numerous times. The email finally came through on the Saturday evening – two weeks and two days after his assessment. The nerves returned. Did I really WANT to open the attachment? Curiosity and anxiousness competed with each other inside my head. Whatever the report said we would need to act on. That meant advocating for our child – which does not come naturally to me – and CHANGE. Whilst I had had a couple of weeks for the news to sink in, I hadn’t had to act on it yet. That was a whole other ‘game’.

It was our children’s bedtime, so a skim read is all I initially had time for. The information wasn’t new. No shocks, as I had had in the parent chat directly after his assessment. But, as I am a visual learner, seeing it all in writing cemented the fact. Our son is highly gifted AND twice exceptional. At the time, I didn’t fully embrace what that meant.

So far, I had only told close family members and a handful of friends about his assessment results. I was afraid of the tall poppy syndrome, knocking him (and us) down. Whilst everyone I spoke to replied with “Well of course he is gifted”, some queried how they can assess the degree of his giftedness. I was quite emotional about everything – fluctuating between between highs (excitement about his future) and lows (having to learn about this whole new area of giftedness and 2E and what we would need to do to help our son be all he can be); those questions hurt.

However now that I had something in writing gave me the confidence to let my wider circle of friends know our news, and to forward this information on to his teachers and primary school principal; I asked for a meeting to discuss the report. His gifted learning programme teachers were quick to respond. “WOW!!!! I am so so so pleased that you got this done! Hooray he is 2E. I knew it!!!!” and “Congratulations, this is a fascinating report. This certainly reminds all stakeholders how exceptional and gifted he really is”. His traditional primary school were slower to respond.

I was completely taken back by the response and encouragement I received from my wider circle of friends. Many asked for me to share about his journey – the catalyst to me starting this blog. The joint excitement about what my boy will accomplish in life made me feel so much more positive. And such kind words about us as his parents. I am truly blessed to have such a fabulous network of people in my life.

Re-reading the report I still had questions over the way forward from here. Yes, there were recommendations, but it would be so much easier if exact strategies were detailed, specifically for my boy – an action plan for his success!! I know that was beyond the scope of the report however. It is something I need to research and seek advice on from highly gifted and 2E experts, then work through possible options with his education providers. A meeting date has been set.

